If the available settings in the mouse preference panel aren’t good enough for you, You can adjust the tracking speed via OS X Terminal using the following command:
If you access a network share on Windows desktops or server, your Mac leaves .DS_store files wherever you browse. These Mac OS X system files contain data about the directory and are hidden for Mac users. You can deactivate the Writing of .DS_store Files on Networks shares, so your Windows friends will stop complaining.
If you think Time Machine is backing up your Mac too often, you can customize the interval between two automatic scheduled backups. Use following command to change the Time Machine Backup Schedule.